European Parliamentary Elections

On Thursday 22nd May 2014, elections will take place across the whole of Europe to elect Members of the European Parliament (MEPs). After the 2014 elections, the European Parliament will be made up of 751 Members, who are elected by 28 EU member countries.

The UK is represented by 73 MEPs. In the UK, there are 12 European electoral regions. Mid Suffolk District Council is in the Eastern region, which is represented by seven MEPs.

In a UK European Parliamentary election, you have one vote to elect all of your MEPs. Each party puts forward a list of candidates known as a regional list and you vote for one of these lists or for an individual candidate standing as an independent. The number of MEPs that are elected from each party to represent a region depends on the overall share of votes that each party receives.

Poll Cards will be sent on Friday 11th April 2014.

Postal Votes will be sent on Friday 2nd May 2014, and must be completed and returned by 10:00pm on Thursday 22nd May 2014.

The last day to register to vote is Tuesday 6th May 2014.

The last day to apply for a postal vote is Wednesday 7th May 2014.

Polling will take place between 7:00am and 10:00pm on Thursday 22nd May 2014.

Votes will be counted and results declared on Sunday 25th May 2014, after polling closes in the rest of Europe.